Weekly News 20th May 2022

CBS lose out in thrilling Cork Colleges final

The Cork Colleges Senior B hurling final provided outstanding entertainment for those watching but unfortunately for Mitchelstown CBS a late burst by Coláiste Choilm in what was a pulsating finish saw them emerge victorious on a final scoreline of 4-14 to 3-12.

Played in excellent conditions on the Bride Rovers pitch in Rathcormac, the two teams took time to settle.  CBS were first on the board courtesy of a pointed from Luke Keating.  Coláiste Choilm wasted two chances before finally replying with a point from play, and soon afterwards added a goal – an excellent save from the initial shot by CBS custodian Michael Roche, but he was helpless as the rebound was netted from close range.  The CBS response was calm and they scored the next four points without reply, three from frees from the very accurate Luke Keating and one from play following a scintillating pick and run by Darragh O’Brien.  Two points from Coláiste Choilm put them back in front, 1-03 to 0-05 points midway through the half.  Luke Keating levelled the game again, this time from play.  A combination of wasteful shooting by Colaiste Choilm, tenacious defending by the CBS backs and another fine save by Michael Roche kept the Ballincollig side at bay.  They added a point from a free but this was quickly cancelled out by a point from play by Zach McCarthy.  It was notable at this point that his speed was causing difficulty for the Ballincollig defenders and he was fouled for CBS’s next score, a pointed free from Luke Keating to cancel out a Colaiste Choilm point from play.   With time ticking towards the halftime break the score was level again, 0-08 to 1-05, but the Ballincollig side scored the last two points of the half to lead at the break.

Colaiste Choilm were quick out of the blocks at the start of the second half, scoring a fine point from play to leave the gap at three.  A sublime point from a sideline by Luke Keating cut it to two, surely one of the scores of the game.  Within minutes though a great run by Ballincollig and the ball was flashed to the net to put them ahead by 5 points, 2-08 to 0-09.  Again though their shooting left them down as the CBS defenders stuck doggedly to their task.  Four wides on the trot from Colaiste Choilm meant they failed to capitalise on the momentum a goal usually brings.  Instead it was CBS to score next, with Luke Keating again pointing a free following a foul on Dillon Sheehan. A quick puck out excellently placed by the Colaiste Choilm keeper and the recipient pointed, followed quickly by another point from play.  CBS now trailed by 6 points, 0-10 to 2-10.  The game was threatening to get away from CBS but once again they responded, showing the grit and character that has been a hallmark of their campaign.  A clever crossfield sideline cut from Luke Keating found Ryan Donegan unmarked, and his long ball was claimed by Dillon Sheehan.  As he bore down on goal he was fouled, penalty awarded, and a goal from Luke to revive the CBS cause.  Colaiste Choilm did score the next point but the next period belonged to CBS.  Conor McGrath was central to much of it, having thundered into the game when moved outfield, Shane Looney was proving his worth under the high ball.  Two more pointed frees from Luke and the gap was down to 2, 1-12 to 2-11 at the 50 minute mark.

If the preceding 50 were exciting, the last 10 minutes provided thrilling fare.  CBS struck first. The Ballincollig keeper was called into action to save from Darragh O’Brien, Conor McGrath was fouled in the follow-up.  This time Luke’s free came back off the post and Padraig Harrington was the most alert, scooping the ball into the net. Incredibly, CBS had fought back from 6 down to lead by 1, 2-12 to 2-11.  Five minutes to go and Colaiste Choilm replied – an opportunist’s goal from the full-forward, followed quickly by a point and they led by 3, 3-12 to 2-12.  Within minutes, CBS were level again with the hard-working Padraig Harrington again finding the net.  The game looked set for extra time as injury time approached.  Heartbreak followed though for CBS, with Colaiste Choilm netting their fourth goal and almost immediately another point.  Another fine save by Michael Roche followed, and the resultant 65 was scored for the final play of the game and a five point victory for Colaiste Choilm, 4-14 to 3-12.

This was a tremendous display by CBS, underdogs going into the final but pushing their opponents right to the line, and one which they can justifiably be very proud of.  Defeat is never easy but they gave it everything and provided a final worthy of the occasion.  They were a credit to their coaches Anthony Nash and Willie Duggan and to their clubs.  Many of the panel are in Leaving Cert and this was their final game in school colours. They have given so much to the school on the playing field over the past 6 years and it was fitting that they should be part of such a thrilling final game.

Team: Michael Roche, Padraig O’Flynn, Conor McGrath, Jamie Fogarty, Daniel Harte, Ryan Donegan, Shane Looney, Conor Kent, Stephen Kenneally, Dillon Sheehan, Darragh O’Brien, Padraig Harrington, Zach McCarthy, Luke Keating, Evan Hickey. Subs used: Sean O’Doherty, Mark Walsh, Oisin Fenton, David Conroy. Other panel members: Sean Óg O’Doherty, Aaron Hickey, Evin Hyland, Jack McGrath, Jack McNamara, Gavin O’Donoghue, Cian O’Brien.

Picture One and Two: Pictures of the senior hurlers in play

Picture Three: Students from both the CBS and Presentation SecSchool Mitchelstown had an informative ecology field trip to the Towers, Lismore last week, in conjunction with Lismore Education Centre 

Picture Four: Commiserations to our U15 hurlers on losing out in the Munster semi-final today. The team were phenomenal all season and we know they’ll come back even stronger for 2022/23

Picture Five: Congratulations  to Cian Hogan for winning first place in the ‘Where I’m From’ poster competition. Congratulations to all runners up as well.

Picture Six: Huge thanks to all students who participated in our primary school table quiz last night. With over 30 teams entered, the competition was stiff. After a tightly contested competition, which resulted in a tiebreaker, CBS Primary, Mitchelstown were announced the overall winners, with second and third place going to Glenahulla NS.  There was also an award for the best 3rd/4th class team, which also went to CBS Primary. Special thanks must be given to our TY students who acted as Quiz Master and score counters. A fantastic and informative evening was had by all!