CBS are Munster Champions!

Mitchelstown CBS were crowned Munster senior football champions on Saturday last with a comprehensive win over Presentation Miltown at Rathkeale.

Mitchelstown were dominant from the start and were first to score when Adrian English set up Cathail O’Mahony for the opening point.  Indeed corner forward Adrian English enjoyed an excellent first half and his speed of movement and turn gave his opposite number a torrid opening spell.  Adrian added Mitchelstown’s second point, before a great run from the same player brought a good save from the Miltown keeper.  Mitchelstown were also controlling midfield, with Sean Walsh particularly strong in the air and Colin English in commanding form alongside him.  This meant Miltown were finding it very difficult to break out of their own half.  A point from Mark Keane put Mitchelstown three ahead. Miltown responded but the threat was comfortably dealt with by Eric O’Donoghue and Jack Coughlan in defence. Indeed they formed a very solid central defensive spine throughout the game.   Corner-back Eoin Gallahue was particularly impressive in his defensive duties, while Lorcan Finn, Dylan Kent and Killian Roche likewise were in control over their direct opponents. Further Mitchelstown points followed, firstly from Adrian English following good work by Sean O’Sullivan, and then an excellent point on the turn from Cathail O’Mahony.  Miltown registered their first point to leave four between the teams.  A defence-splitting run by the excellent Sean O’Sullivan brought a great save from the Kerry keeper, but he was powerless to keep out the next attack.  The CBS full forward line combined to great effect, with full forward Mark Keane supplying the finishing and the game’s first goal.  Mitchelstown continued to work hard without the ball, and this was typified by team captain Colin English.  His persistence saw him dispossess his opposite number, and a weaving run up the left side allowed him to set up Adrian English for Mitchelstown’s second goal.  The impressive Dylan Kent worked space well in midfield to set up Cathail O’Mahony for another point, and Mitchelstown now led by 2-06 to 0-01.  Mitchelstown compounded Miltown’s agony when wing forward Eoin O’Mahony worked his way through the defence to create and complete the goal opportunity and leave CBS with a very healthy lead at half-time.

Any chance Miltown would have of mounting a response was well and truly quenched by the first significant attack of the second half.  Good teamwork and inter-play between Sean Walsh and Sean O’Sullivan saw the latter through on goal and he made no mistake in slotting home Mitchelstown’s fourth goal.  The Kerry side replied with a pointed free, and were denied by a good block from Eric O’Donoghue in their search for a goal.  George Pendle and Colin English combined to set up Sean Walsh for another Mitchelstown point, and CBS now led by 4-07 to 0-02.  Miltown worked hard in their efforts to create goal chances, and Cahal O’Sullivan made a fine save from one such instance.  The two sides exchanged further points, Mitchelstown’s coming from a pointed free from the trusty boot of Cathail O’Mahony.  Skilful play in tight space by Adrian English created the opportunity for Colin English to add a further point.  The next two scores came from Miltown – a pointed free, and then a goal to leave the score at 4-09 to 1-04 as the minutes ticked away.  It was fitting that team captain Colin English, who led by example throughout, should have the final say with a pointed effort following good teamwork by his colleagues.

This was a thoroughly deserved win for the Mitchelstown boys, who showed great character and resolve to recover from the disappointment of the Munster senior hurling final defeat the previous week.  Corn Sheáin Uí Mhurchú will reside in Mitchelstown for the year, the third time the school has won the Munster senior football title.  CBS will now represent Munster in the All-Ireland series, and their next outing will be in the All-Ireland semi-final on Saturday against Meath’s Dunshaughlin Community College, in Shanahoe Co. Laois at 2pm.

Mitchelstown CBS panel: Cahal O’Sullivan, Eoin Gallahue, Jack Coughlan, Killian Roche, Lorcan Finn, Eric O’Donoghue, Dylan Kent, Colin English, Sean Walsh, George Pendle, Sean O’Sullivan, Eoin O’Mahony, Cathail O’Mahony, Mark Keane, Adrian English.  Mark O’Callaghan, Tommy Breedy, Ian Butler, James Conway, Tadgh Finn, Shane Doyle, Kieran Fox, Cathal Harrington, David Harrington, P.J. Keating, Josh Macken, Padraig McGrath, Padraig O’Gorman, Jordan Sheehy, Brian White, Cathal Walsh O’Grady, Eoin Fenton.